Top 3 Interests
Learning languages or cultures
Other Interests
Family Activities
Crafting or Jewelry Making
Music - Listening to or creating
Watching TV/Sports


's Letter

Dear host family, Hello my potential future host family! I think you guys have already read many letters from other teenagers that also want to do an exchange year and stay with you and your family in your house. I am one of them. I would like to introduce myself, my name is Lenthe. A fun fact about my name it means spring, in Dutch. I am a very social person and I have a passion for volleyball and music. I like to meet new people and make new friends. I wrote a letter for you to get to know me better. Hope you like it! I like to spend time with my friends and family. I live with both of my parents [Erwin and Mendy] and my sister Luna. I also have three cats, their names are Pluis, Mia and Tessel. In our house is always something to do, playing volleyball in the garden, baking a cake, having friends over, playing games, watching a movie, listening to music while cooking and much more! I like to do things like that with my family but sometimes I also just like to go to my room and be alone for a while. I hope I can do these things also with my host family. When I am with my friends we like to go shopping, go to the movies, do our nails, play sports [mostly volleyball], play games, listen to music, hang out at each other’s houses and much more! I hope I can make many new friends in America. In my time off, I like to play volleyball. I play volleyball since I’m twelve years old and I very like to play it. I play volleyball by the club in my village. I’m an4 outside hitter, but I think I’m going to be a libero or a setter because of my height. All my teammates are basically my best friends and we support each other no matter what. I also train myself extra at an volleyball academy called: volleybal Academie Noord. I have very good coaches and trainers there and I’m learning many new skills every time. If I can’t play volleyball in America, then I’m open for trying new sports. In my house we have a few chores we need to do daily: set up the dinner table, fill and pack the dishwasher, folding laundry and sometimes we help with cooking. I like to put some music on while me and my parents are cooking dinner. I would like to teach you more about the Netherlands and I hope you can teach me more about America. I hope I get in a very supportive host family that is exited to show me parts of America. I want to do an exchange year to improve my English speaking, and when I am back in the Netherlands I want to speak fluent English. I also would like to get to know the American culture and go to school in America. It’s my dream since I am thirteen years old and I hope my dream can come true by the end of the summer by going to America. I want to develop myself further and be able to look after myself in a new environment. I would like to do that by myself but I think I’m going to need some help from my new host family in America. I want to learn more about myself and find new things that makes me happy, become more independent and get to know myself better. I hope I can get to see some places from America with my host family I want to explore the world. I hope I am going to like it and I’m going to make this the best year of my teenage years. I am ready to explore a new life and live the American dream. Thank you for reading my letter:) It would be an honor to be your daughter for 5 months. I am looking forward to be an exchange student in America and have you as a host family. And I am sure you can help me make my time in America unforgettable. I hope to see you soon! Greetings, Lenthe

A little more about me


Dutch (native), English (7 years), French (3 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Fall Semester

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation

IT Security Specialist

Mother's Occupation

University of Applied Sciences Lecturer


Luna (14)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application