Meet

Tom

Age

15

,

Male

Nationality

French

Top 3 Interests
🏊
Swimming
  
Skiing Downhill or Snowboarding
  
🎾
Tennis/Soft Tennis
  
Other Interests
🏸
Badminton
  
🚴
Bike Riding
  
🎲
Board Games
  
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
Hiking
  
🃏
Playing Cards
  
🖼
Visiting Museums
  
🏐
Volleyball
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
⚽️
Sports
  
🤿
Scuba Diving/Snorkeling
  
🚐
Travel/Road Trips
  

Tom

's Letter

Dear host family, Hello! My name is Tom and I am pleased to have the opportunity to introduce myself to you. I am a French boy living in the south of France in a small town of 2,500 people. I live with my parents and my little sister Elsa, who will be 12 years old in October. My father is a business director and my mother is a teacher. We live near the beach in a big house with a yard and a swimming pool. As far as my hobbies are concerned, I love to travel around the world with my family. We usually travel to other countries twice a year. We enjoy discovering new people, cultures, and customs. We have visited many cities and countries. I have also travelled without my family. In the summer of 2022, I spent 2 weeks with a host family in Scotland, and this year I had a wonderful 3 week stay with a lovely host family in Tonganoxie, KS, USA. Additionally, I enjoy many different kinds of sports. In winter I usually go skiing for two weeks in the French Alps. Skiing is one of my favorite activities! I also play tennis twice a week. I am a member of the tennis club in my town. I have a practice once a week, and I also play with my family or with my friends once a week. On Saturdays I play matches with my town’s team. Furthermore, I swim once a week in the city swimming pool and practice many different techniques such as freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, and butterfly. I also enjoy scuba diving in order to look at sea animals and swim with them. I am very interested in sharks. In the summer of 2022, I had the opportunity to swim with sea turtles and rays in the West Indies. Lastly, I also love baseball. I’ve had the opportunity to play baseball at school and I love this sport! As you can see, I really enjoy being active. I also enjoy playing cards and board games. Another activity I’m fond of is cooking and baking. I especially like baking cakes. Similarly, I like tasting different types of foods. On Friday nights I always eat at a restaurant with my family. Words to describe my personality include: quiet, curious, open-minded, serious, nice, cheerful and reliable. At school I study subjects such as history, geography, sciences, French, Latin, German, and chemistry. My favorite subjects are math, physics and English. In September I will attend a high school and I will be in year 10. My future goals are to study to become an airplane pilot because I am fond of aeronautics and I love to travel around the world. I have always dreamt of studying in an English-speaking country. I would like to become an exchange student because I would like to be fluent in English. To my mind, this program is the best opportunity to better my English skills since I will have no contact with French speaking people for a year. This program will also enable me to discover your customs, your daily life, and celebrations such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Halloween. Thanksgiving is not celebrated in France. Moreover, I will have the opportunity to study in an American high school like an American student, which must be a wonderful experience! I would be extremely delighted to get on the famous yellow school buses and to join a sport club! I like your country because it is a high-tech country and it is a country where different landscapes can be seen. Please be assured, I am ready to help out with family chores. At home I usually bake bread for my family. I often set and clear the table. I always empty the dishwasher. I will contribute to life in your family by setting and clearing the table. We could cook or bake together. It would be a great pleasure for me to prepare some French recipes if you are interested in trying them. I made crepes for my host family last summer and they very much enjoyed the experience! I would be happy to go shopping with you and to help you with laundry. To conclude, I am highly motivated and that is the reason why I can confidently tell you that I will do my best to be part of your family! Thank you very much for your time and attention. Hopefully you have enjoyed getting to know more about me! I remain at your disposal, if you require further information. I look forward to meeting you soon. Kind Regards, Tom

A little more about me

Languages

French (native), English (4 years), German (3 years)

Religion

None

Do you have any allergies?

No

Allergies Description

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

BUSINESS DIRECTOR

Mother's Occupation

TEACHER

Siblings

ELSA (12)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application