Top 3 Interests
Other Interests
Babysitting/Working with kids


's Letter

Dear host family, Thank you so much for being willing to participate in this exchange program and for taking the time to read my letter and to consider me as your potential host family member! My name ist Megan and I am about to finish 10th grade at High School. My school day starts at 8 a.m. and ends at around 2 p.m. When I get home, I do my homework and afterwards I try to meet my friends as often as possible as they are very important to me. I am very outgoing, open to meeting new people, creative, fun loving and caring. I also love animals and try to spend lots of time with them. The most important part for me is my family. I live together with my father Lutz, my mother Jennifer, my twin sister Helen, and our 8 years old mini labradoodle Lena in a suburb close to Hamburg. We are a very close family, and we love to spend time together. I love them very much and they always support me. After the winter season we often do bike tours on which we take our dog Lena, or we drive to the Baltic Sea coast which is about a one hours’ drive. We also visit my grandparents and my grandma quite often who live about 45 minutes far from our home or to my grandma who lives about 90 minutes far away. I love visiting them all because they are so nice, and it is a lot of fun spending time with them. My hobby is playing soccer and I love it. I go to soccer training 3 times a week and most of the weekends there is a soccer game I take part in. We are a group of about 30 girls on the team and practice is so much fun because our coach is really great, and we do a lot of different drills before we play a match soccer for the last 30 minutes. I’m so glad and proud to be part of this team because we are not just a group of players, we are a very good community and laugh so much every time. My twin sister Helen is also on the team. Even though we are twins, we don’t look alike at all (as you can see on the collage). Helen is my only sibling, and we are very different from each other. We have different groups of friends, different interests and even attend different schools. Although we argue sometimes, I really love her with all my heart, and we get along quite well. Growing up with a sister has taught me the importance of compassion, understanding, and the value of cherished memories. On Thursdays I attend swim training which I do for about 8 years now. I don’t do swimming for competition but just for the fun of it. Doing sports is one of my favorite things to do. I am extremely fascinated by the United States because it’s such a big country and it has so many sides and seems like anything is possible there. Also, the nature has so many facets that amaze me. I think that this is a very good opportunity to get to know your country and your culture while bringing part of mine with me and sharing it with you. I hope to become a part of your family on the other side of the world while seeing how your life works and what it’s like to attend an American high school. I am very excited to meet you and I am looking forward to becoming a part of your family! I can’t wait to get to know you and your daily life and make memories with you! Thank you again for reading my letter and for graciously opening up your home and your lives to me! I hope you have a great day! Best wishes and greetings from Germany, Megan

A little more about me


English (6 years), German (native)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation

Management Consultant

Mother's Occupation

Business economist


Helen (16)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application