Top 3 Interests
Ice Skating/Figure skating
Other Interests
Playing Cards
Running or Jogging
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks


's Letter

Letter to my future host family Dear future host family, First of all, I want to thank you for taking me during my year abroad. I am so happy for the chance to live one year in the USA and make awesome memories. I hope you all feeling good! Unfortunately, I don’t know anything about you so I am going to tell you something about me. My name is Emilia and I am currently in my Sophmore year at my High school in Germany. At my High School I have the privilege to be part of a bilingual class, which means that I am already able to take a few classes in English such as biology and geography. I am very excited to improve my English skills even further during my year abroad by not only taking all my classes in English but also by having to speak English with all the people around me. In general, my favorite subjects are biology and sports. Especially my sports class because sport has always been one of the most important things in my life. Ever since I was 5 years old, I have been practicing up to 5 times a week to become a professional figure skater one day and I loved every minute of it. Unfortunately, I was not able to pursue this dream any longer due to various injuries, but it hasn’t stopped me from going to practice. At least as long as there is an ice ring somewhere close to me. I just love this sport too much, it is my passion. Since there is not always an ice ring around me, I was lucky to find another sport that I am very excited and passionate about. For a couple of months now I have been going to swimming practice once a week and been enjoying it very much. I think if would ask my friends they would describe me as a person who laughs a lot. But also, as a very good listener. That’s totally right I would say. I try to always give the best advice if they would ask me for one. I am a person who supports others when they have a problem. I am also very spontaneous I guess. I’ve probably learned that from my grandma, because she is also very spontaneous. I am a person who eats everything. So you don’t need to worry about it. I eat meat and everything else. And I am really looking forward to try more things! I have a big family. There is my mom, my dad, my two grandmas and my three sisters. I love family meetings, because there I can see my whole family. We laugh and talk a lot. My two bigger sisters don’t live with us anymore, because they live with their partners and one of them is still studying. The other one works at a kindergarten. Then there is my other bigger sister, who is three years older than me, but sadly she is smaller one. My dad’s workplace isn’t in our hometown. In the middle of the week he works in Cottbus and at the weekends he comes home and then he cooks us a big meal. My mom is working from home at the company from my dad. Since I haven’t a lot of time I enjoy every moment of our family meetings. I also love it looking after the two dogs from my sister and her girlfriend. The two dogs are so cute it is indescribable. They are very fearful but with the time we got really close. If there is any free time in between going to school, figure skating and swimming I love reading novels or hanging out with my friends and sisters. With my family we also do movie nights frequently, which are always fun. I have three older siblings to whom I look up to. Two of them already went to the US, one for a whole year and the other one for two years. Both inspired me to do the same. I would love to get to know a different culture and learn the language even better in the best way possible. By experiencing it in an everyday life and becoming part of my future host family. I think this experience would be great for both sides because not only would I be able to learn new things about a different culture and improve my English, but I could also tell stories about the German culture and maybe even teach a little German. And I would be pleased also possibly, if you like, that I cook something typically German for you for example to give you a little view in Germany, as you bring America more near to me. In order to prepare myself a little more for my year abroad, I started reading some of my novels in English and even switched the language to English when I am watching tv shows or movies. I am really looking forward to this experience and cannot wait to see what lies ahead of me. I want to make as many memories and experiences with you as possible in this year. And I have to say it again: Thank you so much for hosting me. There are no words that would describe how thankful and happy I am about it. I hope we can get in contact quickly. I am so excited to meet you all and get to know you. Kind regards, Emilia

A little more about me


German (native), English (9 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation

insurance broker

Mother's Occupation

Insurance specialist


Victoria (19) Antonia (26) Carolina (27)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application