Meet

Sara

Age

17

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🎶
Band or Orchestra
  
🎨
Artwork/Drawing/Painting
  
🎶
Music - Listening to or creating
  
Other Interests
🐶
Animals/Pets
  
💍
Crafting or Jewelry Making
  
⛸️
Ice Skating/Figure skating
  
🧶
Knitting or Crocheting
  
🌐
Learning languages or cultures
  
🎶
Playing Piano or Musical Instruments
  
🏺
Pottery or Sculpting
  
🛼
Skating - Roller/Inline
  
Skiing Downhill or Snowboarding
  
🚐
Travel/Road Trips
  

Sara

's Letter

Dear Host Family, To start my letter, I’d like to express my gratitude by saying thank you for willing to participate in the exchange program and accepting and welcoming me to live with your family. I am a German girl currently in high school. I have a strong desire to explore the world, particularly, the United States of America. I want to learn about the American culture, customs, and different perspective on the world. I consider myself to be a very open minded, friendly, creative, artistic, patient, and thoughtful person. I am bilingual in German and Spanish. I have been taking English lessons since the first grade and hope to improve it even more during my exchange year. I love to draw and to listen and play music. I’ve been playing the recorder (flute) for 8 years and the electric guitar for 3 years. They always brighten my day and let me express myself. I hope to join a school-club where I can continue playing the electric guitar but I’m aware that this is not always possible. I’m open to try new things and explore other activities as well. Even though I don't participate in any organized sports clubs, I enjoy playing them with friends in my free time. My friends are very important to me, and I value them a lot. I like ice skating or skiing in winter and riding my bike in summer. My dad is an IT-consultant and loves to do sports such as bicycling, swimming and jogging. My mom is a software developer, her hobby is baking, and she is very engaged in helping others, usually in church or school. My younger brother is three and a half year younger than me and is in 7th grade. We are a very close family and spend time together regularly. We watch movies together, go to theaters and visit museums. We all love to travel and are interested in other cultures. In my opinion traditional German cuisine and festivals are the most important aspects of our culture. I look forward to sharing with you dishes like schnitzel, sauerkraut, and pretzels as well as introducing you to festivities such as Oktoberfest, Christmas markets, and carnival. I also hope to share some German music too. My father took part in a high-school exchange program and told me all about his adventure. Furthermore, after diving even deeper and hearing about the enriching experiences of others, I realized going on an exchange year is the right thing for me to do. I am confident that this will lead to special connections and create relationships that can last a lifetime. I am looking forward to becoming part of your family and make unforgettable great memories. Warm regards, Sara

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), Spanish (native), English (10+ years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

IT Consultant

Mother's Occupation

Software Developer

Siblings

Luis (12)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application