Top 3 Interests
Other Interests
Amusement Parks or Water Parks
Crafting or Jewelry Making
Museums/Art Exhibits
Music - Listening to or creating
Skiing Downhill or Snowboarding
Travel/Road Trips
Video or Online Games


's Letter

Dear host family, My name is Kirsten. I am from the Netherlands. I love going on new adventures, so I am really looking forward to spending a year in the United States, and to learn about the culture and traditions of your country. First off, I am very thankful that you are willing to welcome me into your home and be the biggest part of my exchange year. I will tell you about myself so that you can get to know me. Right now, I am in the 11th grade of high school, and I really enjoy it. I am a creative, studious, autonomous, extroverted, loving girl. My favorite thing to do is to sew, but besides sewing I also love to paint, draw, and do other things that involve handwork. Other things that I like to do are baking and cooking, playing games, hanging out with my friends, and skiing. I learned to ski at three years old, so twice a year I go skiing with family and friends in the Austrian or Swiss Alps. At the moment I also work at a Dutch supermarket as a cashier, I do this 2-3 times a week. I hope while on the program that I can attend or join an art related extra curricular at school. I live with my mom and dad; my older sister and brother have moved to other parts of the country because they attend university. My dad is a CEO at a real estate company, my mom is a behavior specialist at multiple high schools, my sister studies aerospace engineering and my brother studies economics and business economics. After I have finished the exchange program, I am hoping to study at a collage that teaches fashion design, because my biggest dream is to become a fashion designer and to have my own clothing lines. I am looking forward to hearing about what you all do, what your daily lives look like and to become a part of that. I first came across the idea of doing an exchange year in my second year of high school, and last schoolyear when I started looking for what I wanted to study I came back to this idea. For me it feels like an amazing opportunity to go a year abroad because I get to experience and learn about a completely different and new culture, which fits me well since I am eager to learn new things, and it would of course also improve my English. A contributing factor is also the fact that I did not want to enter a study as a younger student and be in a class with student 3-4 years older than me, so a year abroad at a high school surrounded by people of my age sounded like the perfect plan. I am curious to see if the image I have in my head is how it is in real live, and how different or similar the Netherland and the US might be. I hope you can teach me about your country and culture and help me answer my question. I would also love to teach you a bit about the Dutch culture, so be prepared to eat some delicious Dutch snacks and listen to my favorite Dutch songs. Thank you for reading this letter. I am really looking forward to meeting you, and to have you be a part in one of my most amazing adventures. Kind and warm regards, Kirsten

A little more about me


Dutch (native), English (7 years), Spanish (4 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation


Mother's Occupation



Emma (21) Lars (20)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application