Top 3 Interests
Athletics/Track & Field
Playing Piano or Musical Instruments
Other Interests
Board Games/Cards/Dice Games/Chess
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
Surfing/Body Boarding
Theater/Plays (watching)
Travel/Road Trips


's Letter

Dear host family, My name is Marie. I live in a house in the South East of France, in a small town with 11 000 inhabitants. I have two older brothers ; Nicolas and Pierre, aged 21 and 20. Nicolas is currently in Sweden for a 6-month internship as part of his business studies. Pierre is in his 2nd year of physiotherapy school at St Etienne. My dad, Didier is a controller at the Caisse d'Allocations Familiales and my mom, Sophie helps children at school with physical or intellectual disabilities. We are all very close and happy to be together as a family. I am very close too to my maternal grandparents, especially my grandmother, whom I see regularly. My parents support me in my decision to discover another country : the United States for a year. I have been talking to them about it for such a long time ! Another culture, to speak english fluently, a way of knowing oneself better. When she was young, my mother worked as an au pair in London , my older brother is living since a few months abroad : their two experiments and discoveries are yet another reason why I want to live this wonderful adventure. I love spending time with my friends : we talk a lot, we cook, we go shopping, we play sports together... I am passionate about basketball, which I have been playing for 6 years at regional level. I am a student of a music conservatory : I have been playing the piano since the age of 7. I am part of a contemporary music group. In elementary school, I started doing theater, and I am continuing in middle school. Every year, at the end of the school year, we perform a Shakespeare play in public at the local theater. These activities have enabled me to develop my curiosity, to exchange with others and with people from different backgrounds. I am a very active and easygoing person who likes to meet up with my friends and take part in different activities to develop my teenage life. I took part in summer camps where I learned to adapt to different situations. These are moments of shared friendship and exchange of knowledge, for example setting up tents or cooking for the group, or during sporting activities. These are very strong moments ! I really want to go to the U.S. It has been my dream since I was a little girl. I am passionate about American culture, which I have discovered through TV series, podcasts and articles in vocable magazine. There is a wide variety of amazing landscapes. I follow the NBA and admire some French players like Victor WEMBANYAMA. I am really interested in the school system as a pedagogical approach and also because the teaching methods are very different. The subjects are varied and appropriate, and after-school sports would allow me to meet new people. I am aware that my english level is not excellent but I love English and enjoy studying it in class, so I will be able to improve it while I will be there. I also know that the best way to learn and master a language is to live in the country. When I will be at school in the United States, I would meet new people, make friends, exchange and discuss about our mutual culture. I am aware that some moments will not be easy due to the distance from my family and close friends. But I am a very thoughtful, determined, independent and active person who loves discoveries, which is for me fundamental. During this year, I will live with my new family and my new friends and put my "french" life in bracket to enjoy my new life. I hope to share your daily life and participate in common household tasks , I also hope that we will communicate and get to know each other and I would like to do activities together, have incredible memories and keep in touch with you for a long time ! I want to thank you for allowing me to embark on this wonderful adventure with you, here in the United States !

A little more about me


French (native), English (3 years), Spanish (2 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation


Mother's Occupation



Nicolas (22) Pierre (20)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application