Top 3 Interests
Travel/Road Trips
Other Interests
Board Games/Cards/Dice Games/Chess
Music - Listening to or creating
Playing Piano or Musical Instruments
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
Skiing Downhill or Snowboarding


's Letter

Dear future host family, First of all I would like to thank you for making this big dream - do an exchange year - come true. It is really admirable that you give young people like me such a chance. My name is Milena and currently 15 years old . I am looking forward to experiencing the American high school and the American way of life. If you like , I can also show you some aspects of German culture. During my stay in the USA I would like to have new experiences, make new friends and of course find a wonderful host family that I would like to stay in contact with when I am back in Germany. The most important reason why I want to do an exchange year is that I love to see new things and meet new people. My home town where I have lived since I was born is Berlin and I love it! I live here in a house with my parents – my mom Inka and my dad Ercan- my younger sister Alessia and my younger brother Timur. My father is a doctor and my mother works in an office. Our rabbits Tommy, Tinka, Yuna and Mika also belong to our family . I have a really good relationship with everyone in my family and they support me in all things and projects like the exchange year, for which I am very grateful. I am currently in 10th grade of an highschool in Germany . I think there are many differences in the education systemI’m very excited to get to know yours! My favourite subjects are Biology and Sports. Maybe I can choose some interesting courses in your school, like astronomy, because we don’t have that in Germany . I love playing volleyball and I hope I can continue playing during the year I will be in your country. I also do gymnastics and in addition I am a coach for the younger kids (3 – 5 years old). At the moment I am doing kids-training in the afternoon and then my own training, so I am like warming up with the kids for my own gymnastic lesson :-). Also I have been playing the piano for the last two years and this school year I have been helping a 7th grade student with homework. With all these activities my week is always pretty full, but this is exactly my thing and I like it. It keeps me busy and I am enjoying it. During my exchange year I’m open to try out new tihngs. In my free time I love to spend time with my friends. We like to meet and chat, go shopping, swimming, bowling or to the cinema. I also love going out to eat, for example for brunch, in a cafe or in a restaurant for dinner. Sometimes I also like to eat fast food like fries or kebap. I also love music and I am a big fan of live concerts! This year I went to see Cro and Ayliva. Both are German songwriters, so maybe you don’t know them, but if you are interested I can introduceyou to some of their songs. Apart from these exciting things, my friends and I also just talk, hang out at each other´s houses, we cook, bake, play games or watch movies. I like romance and comedy films, and sometimes horror films too. During the Christmas season, my friends and I go ice-skating, visit the Christmas markets or we bake Christmas cookies. I would describe myself as an optimistic, outgoing and caring person. I always try to do my best and never give up. I am really looking forward to meeting you! Yours sincerely Milena

A little more about me


German (native), English (8 years), French (4 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



No Pork

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation


Mother's Occupation



Alessia (12) Timur (9)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application