Meet

Jules

Age

15

,

Male

Nationality

French

Top 3 Interests
🏀
Basketball
  
🎣
Fishing
  
🏄
Surfing/Body Boarding
  
Other Interests
💻
Computers or Technology
  
📸
Photography
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
⛳️
Golf
  
🐶
Animals/Pets
  
🎲
Board Games/Cards/Dice Games/Chess
  
🎳
Bowling
  
🧑‍🍳
Cooking/Baking
  
🎥
Movies/Cinema
  
🎶
Music - Listening to or creating
  
⛵️
Sailing/Boating
  

Jules

's Letter

Dear host family, My name is Jules, I'm the youngest of 4 children and live with my parents. My two sisters are studying in another town. My eldest sister Maelle lives in Stockholm. My other sister Anais is preparing for her medical entrance exam. My brother Louis goes to the same high school as mine. We're a large family in which family spirit is important. We gather around meals and cooking. I love being in the kitchen and helping to prepare meals, especially with my dad who cooks very well, without recipes and who invents dishes. At weekends, we try to share moments together, even though we don't all have the same activities and the girls aren't around all the time. Now that I've grown up, I'm still the youngest of the siblings, but I have equal relationships with my brothers and sisters. The four of us share more things. And I love it when it's just the six of us. At school, my schedule is pretty well organized even though occasionally that's a lot of hours in a day. Sometimes I go back home at 6.30 pm and I need a rest whereas I have to do my homework. Nevertheless, I have time to practice my favorite sport, basketball, 3 times a week. I go to guitar class on Thursdays. I've been playing guitar long enough now to be able to play whole pieces. I'm not too keen on the end-of-year show, though. I prefer to be alone with my guitar teacher. He's so musically cultured that he passes on a lot to me. Sometimes during lessons, I don't play the whole thing, and we talk about bands, trends and music. I'm passionate about it. School transport here takes up a lot of time in the day (1 hour 30 minutes a day). It's important for me to get to bed early. So I have to be quite disciplined and organized when it comes to my schoolwork. At weekends, in addition to basketball, I go surfing and fishing. When I have time, I play golf and go sailing if the weather's nice. I see another group of friends when we go to our vacation home. I'm pretty sociable. I like to have several groups of friends. I'm curious by nature, interested in everything, and I particularly like new things. It's for one of these reasons that I've chosen to spend a school year with you. I'm really looking forward to it. The United States is a dream for me. Ever since I started playing basketball, I've been very interested in American culture, even though I'm well aware that each state has its own specificity. And it's this diversity that appeals to me. I think I'm a very adaptable teenager, which will help me integrate quickly into your family. I see myself in your home as I would in my own family. I know how to help with meals and other household chores. I'm pretty straightforward. I'm rarely bored, and if I don't know what to do, I'm happy to suggest activities to my brothers and sisters. I can also be in a family without children without any problem. As for my high school life in the United States, I imagine it to be full of sports and many activities. I'm preparing myself here in France to be able to communicate in English with the American community so that I don't feel isolated for the first few weeks. I expect to make lots of friends in high school, friends I hope to keep for the rest of my life despite the distance. I can't wait to discover the American school system, which seems so different from France. Being able to take part in activities and study at the same time is a real opportunity for me. But above all, I'm really lucky to be able to spend 9 months with you and come home with unforgettable memories. Having new parents, new habits, a new school and new friends is what I'm looking forward to most. I can't wait to meet you all. And I can only end this letter by thanking you warmly for allowing me to live this fabulous adventure. See you soon ! Jules

A little more about me

Languages

French (native), English (5 years), Spanish (3 years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

Yes

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

dentist

Mother's Occupation

clinical psychologist

Siblings

Maëlle (21) Anaïs (19) Louis (17)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application