Meet

Aina

Age

15

,

Female

Nationality

Spanish

Top 3 Interests
🎶
Music - Listening to or creating
  
📚
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
  
✍️
Writing/Journaling
  
Other Interests
📸
Photography
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🧑‍🍳
Cooking/Baking
  
💋
Fashion/Beauty
  
🏋️
Fitness/Gym/Weightlifting
  
🎥
Movies/Cinema
  

Aina

's Letter

Dear host family, My name is Aina, I would like to start by saying that my family and I are so thankful for hosting me. It is a very huge opportunity for me, I hope to make the most of it. I live in a small town near Barcelona with my parents, Montserrat and Eugeni. My mother and father are known by their abbreviated names, Geni and Montse. I also have a 19-year-old sister, whose name is Laia, and my dog, Murri. I love him so much, he is our “little brother.” My mother studied Philosophy, and now she is Gender Equality Consultant. My father studied Business Management and Administration and Business Sciences. He’s head of Administration. My sister Laia studies a degree in audiovisual communications and she works at a middle school, doing extracurricular activities with kids. I am very close with my family. Every day, after school, I eat lunch with my grandparents, and with my uncles and cousins, we often meet for celebrations or just a typical Sunday to have some fun together. Now, I would like to talk about what things I like and how I am. At the beginning I am pretty shy with people I don’t know, but as I get to know people I become more sociable, respectful, empathic and funny. Also, I am very organized and I value friendship a lot. In studies there are subjects that I am very good at, like languages, history and geography. I have to work hard to pass Maths, Physics and Chemistry. On weekends, I hang out with my friends, we go to the cinema, mall and to an outdoor education program where we do different activities, just to enjoy some time outside and socialize. It’s a tradition to go a few days in august on a summer camp with this program. I also love to visit my maternal grandmother and cousin, we have a lot of fun together watching movies, series, and sometimes we go eat at sushi. It is my favorite food. I really like to go for a walk on the beach, we’re very fortunate to live on the coast. I went to a dance academy, ballet and urban. Three times a week, I go to the gym to do some exercise and I would like to do it in the U.S. as well. I like listening to music. My favorite genres are pop, indie and pop-rock. Ever since I read a book called “Twilight”, I've became interested in science fiction, romantic fantasy, and young adult novels. My current favorite authors are Joana Marcús, a well-known writer in Spain, and I also really enjoy books by Colleen Hoover. Through reading these books, I realized that I wanted to create my own stories. So, I started writing very short novels, and now I can spend hours immersed in writing my own stories. I feel very lucky to participate in this exchange program. Studying, learning, knowing new people, being more independent and autonomous. It is an opportunity to experience on an academic level, but also on a personal level. Being away from my family, friends and the people I love must make me appreciate what I have. It is an opportunity to learn, to be a better person and to improve my ability as a student at the same time. I think that is a great way to learn about a new culture and share my own culture and values. I can be a cultural ambassador, telling my new family, classmates, teachers and community in general about local customs, traditions and national holidays. I can prepare for my host family different Mediterranean meals like an opportunity to discover and appreciate cultural differences. Also, I could help the students of the high school who are learning the Spanish language and cooperate in classes with the Spanish teacher. So I think the experience on a personal level will be positive for everybody. I think, meeting people who live in another continent, learn from their culture and way of life will upgrade my ways of looking at things. I have chosen to make this exchange in the US because it is a country that has always attracted me to its cultural and geographical diversity, and I am very excited to know it. My host family could help me in my process of adapting, giving me love, guidance and support, helping me make friends, learn the language and culture, and in general, to get the best of my time in the US. This presentation letter represents the beginning of an experience that will surely be unforgettable. Yours sincerely, Aina

A little more about me

Languages

Catalan (native), Spanish (native), English (3 years)

Religion

None

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

Yes

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Head of Administration

Mother's Occupation

Gender Equality Consultant

Siblings

Laia (19)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application