Meet

Sofia

Age

17

,

Female

Nationality

Italian

Top 3 Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking/Baking
  
🏋️
Fitness/Gym/Weightlifting
  
📚
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
  
Other Interests
💻
Computers or Technology
  
🧑‍⚖️
Debating
  
🏐
Volleyball
  

Sofia

's Letter

Dear host family, I'm S., a very cheerful, outgoing and always smiling sixteen year old Italian girl. I have a good character, in fact I have friends with whom I get along very well...but I also chat a lot! I consider myself a curious person, with a great desire to learn about new cultures and languages; always ready to have new experiences and visit new cities, in fact one of my greatest passions is travelling. I live in a small town of 5000 inhabitants, located in the north-west of Italy, surrounded by meadows and mountains. I attend a high school, a chemical-sanitary technical institute, which is 10 km from my home. The subjects I study are mathematics, chemistry, history, microbiology and many others, but my favorites are anatomy and English. I also really like being in the laboratory where I can put into practice what I have studied in class. During my free time I like to go for long walks with my mother or with my best friend around my house in the meadows. Until before Covid-19, from the age of seven, I practiced artistic gymnastics at a competitive level, I went to national competitions and I loved it, but unfortunately, having not trained for many months during the lockdown, I reluctantly decided to dismiss. I miss it a lot, but I try to train anyway by going to the gym with my best friend. I love cooking for my family, it's a great passion of mine; I cook typical Italian dishes, such as lasagna, carbonara, ragù and much more, but I prefer to make desserts, I always like to make new recipes for my family and relatives to try. My family is made up of mum, dad and an older brother, with whom I don't spend much time because he works in the family business and because we have different interests, but we both know that we can always count on each other. I get along very well with my parents, we talk a lot and we spend a lot of time together, especially on Sundays because we always organize trips to the mountains, or to eat an ice cream, or simply watch a film together on the sofa. Our family is very large, made up of many aunts and uncles, cousins and grandparents. We have the habit of all getting together at Christmas and other holidays, but not only that, sometimes we organize Sunday lunches and on these occasions I help my mother and my aunts cook. I am very close to my cousins, to the point that this summer in JulyI spent a lot of time with them, I played with them, we created crafts and took long swims in the pool; while my aunts worked, to help them. Every morning, as soon as I wake up, I have breakfast and get ready for school. I take a short bus trip where I can talk a lot with friends and classmates about school subjects, tests, etc.. I arrive at school at 8 A.M., I follow all the lessons until 10.30 when I have break, where I can distract my mind a bit and have a laugh with my friends. I finish at 1 PM, I take the bus back home and when I arrive my mother is there waiting for me to eat together. After lunch I rest for a moment, then I start doing my homework and studying for the following day. Towards the evening, after having eaten with my family, we watch a film, or my mother and I read a book, another passion that I have recently discovered and which I try to continue over time. Thank you for choosing me! I can't wait to meet my new family and discover new experiences, cultures and make new friends.

A little more about me

Languages

Italian (native), English (10+ years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

Yes

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Commercial Agent

Mother's Occupation

Commercial Agent

Siblings

Gabriele (19)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application