Meet

Miko

Age

15

,

Male

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🏐
Volleyball
  
🧑‍🍳
Cooking/Baking
  
🌲
Nature/Outdoors
  
Other Interests
🎣
Fishing
  
🏊
Swimming
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🎡
Amusement Parks or Water Parks
  
🚴
Bike-Riding/Mountain biking or BMX
  
🎲
Board Games/Cards/Dice Games/Chess
  
🚐
Camping/RV'ing
  
🏄
Jet skiing
  
🛶
Kayaking or Canoeing
  
Skiing Downhill or Snowboarding
  
📚
Studying/Learning new things
  
🏓
Table Tennis/Ping Pong
  
🏄
Water Skiing or Wakeboarding
  
🛠️
Woodworking or building things
  

Miko

's Letter

Dear host family, Thank you so much for taking part in the exchange program and accepting me for living with you for one year. I am a German boy and I am about to finish my tenth grade of school. I really would love to gain my own experience in an exchange year and get to know your country, your family, your culture and habits. I have visited the US last summer, when my parents and I picked up my brother from his exchange year in Minneapolis. That was an awesome time that I will always remember. I really enjoy lots of sports and outdoor adventures. I am an athletic guy, but besides of the sport I am also a friendly, open minded and positive thinking person. In my leisure time I play volleyball two times a week and table tennis three times a week. I joined the volleyball club recently and played table tennis for about two years. Before that, I was an active swimmer for nearly ten years and was very successful in freestyle. Furthermore, I like to bake and cook and like to try out new dishes. My favorite foods are burgers, BBQ´s, pasta, pizza and chocolate bakery. German is my native language and I also speak English (after 8 years in school) and a bit of French (after 4 years in school). I live together with my parents and my brother who is two and a half years older than me. My brother and me, we are going to the same school. In sommer I take the bicycle to school and in the winter I am taking the bus. My school ist about 8 miles away, so it takes half an hour with bicycle, but when I am on my way it doesn´t feel that long, because often I can ride with my friend. I like going with my father to a cable park on some weekends. There, my father does wakeskating and I do wakeboarding. On most of our vacations we do some activities, like canoeing, fishing, tenting, skiing or wind surfing. We often do some outdoor trips, what I really like. When we are planing a trip I help my parents with the research of the destination and activities we could do. I hope to try out new sports at the high school and get to know new friends. At school I also would like to choose subjects that we don´t have in Germany, for instance culinary arts sounds interesting like I heard from my brother. I would also like to show you how we celebrate some holidays in Germany. I think we have also some interesting German dishes, like „Spatzle“ ,a kind of pasta, or „Rouladen“ a rolled meat dish which I would like to prepare for you. Assured by the wonderful time that my brother had, I want to collect my own experience within your family. I believe that I will have unforgettable memories with you and my new friends in the US. I am exited to become a part of your family. With warm regards, Miko

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (8 years), French (4 years)

Religion

None

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

No

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

engineer

Mother's Occupation

accountant

Siblings

Phil (17)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application