Meet

Lilith

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking/Baking
  
🏋️
Fitness/Gym/Weightlifting
  
🎶
Music - Listening to or creating
  
Other Interests
💃
Dance
  
📚
Reading
  
🏃
Running or Jogging
  
⚽️
Soccer
  
🏐
Volleyball
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
⚽️
Sports
  
🏃
Athletics/Track & Field
  
🧑‍🍼
Babysitting/Working with kids
  
🎲
Board Games/Cards/Dice Games/Chess
  
🎳
Bowling
  
🌱
Environmental Protection
  
💋
Fashion/Beauty
  
🛍️
Flea Markets/Thrift Shops
  
⛸️
Ice Skating/Figure skating
  
🌐
Learning languages or cultures
  
🎥
Movies/Cinema
  
🎉
Organizing Events
  
🙋
School clubs/organizations
  
🛼
Skating - Roller/Inline
  
Skiing - Cross Country
  
Skiing Downhill or Snowboarding
  
🛷
Snow Sledding
  
🚐
Travel/Road Trips
  
🏄
Water Skiing or Wakeboarding
  

Lilith

's Letter

Dear Host Family, firstly, I want to thank you so much for opening your home and hearts to me during my upcoming program in the United States. I am truly excited by this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to live with an American family and attend high school there. My name is Lilith, and I am from Germany. I am currently doing my sophomore year in high school. I am genuinely looking forward to getting to know you, experiencing American culture and sharing your life, since I love trying new things and travelling. I am a very outgoing, fun-loving, ambitious and adventurous person. Furthermore, I enjoy doing sports like volleyball, track and field and jogging but especially going to the gym. Sadly I'm not actively doing track and field anymore, but I'm hoping to join a team at your local school, I'm also open to a new sport, since there aren't many opportunities for that here that are close by. In my free time when I'm not at practice or at the gym, I meet up with friends, and we go out in the city or stay in and cook/bake together. We also regularly hangout at a youth center near me. On the weekends, I work at a farmer's shop and sell fruit, or babysit my cousin's baby. I am fluent in German, have been learning English for 11 years and Spanish for 5 years. I'm hoping to be fluent in English by the end of my exchange. I am currently living partially with my mother and partially with my father and stepmother in a bigger city in the north of Germany. I have two older sisters, an older stepsister and an older stepbrother. My parents both work, and so does my stepmom. My mom recently opened up a therapists' office for art therapy, she also works part-time in an elementary school where she assists an autistic kid. Dad works for the city and is an object manager for school, on the weekends and on the holidays he often goes sailing with my stepmother. My stepmother, too works for the city but as an engineer for bridges. My eldest sister is 24 and moved out when she was 14, into an assisted living facility because she is severely disabled, we visit her frequently, but that has only taught me compassion with other people and how to handle these situations. My other sister is 21, and she recently moved out to go to college to become a teacher. We spend a lot of time together, even with the big age gap. She also did an exchange year back in 2018 which actually inspired me to apply for one. I also have a great relationship with my stepsister (21) and my stepbrother (25) because they've been in my life since I was six. My stepsister is currently at college, studying to be a doctor, and my stepbrother is a studied master for sail making. We all enjoy doing activities together like ice skating, going out to eat or doing movie evenings. I love spending time with my family, and my mother's side of the family is very close since we all live in the same town, and we have many traditions like eating out whenever there's a holiday. We overall love doing activities together. I am eager to attend high school and live with an American family because I believe it will be a unique experience, and it has been a dream of mine for a really long time. I always thought t was so exciting to see the different education system and attend a high school football game, like in all the movies. Not only that, but I see this as an opportunity to broaden my horizons, learn about a different culture, and gain a deeper understanding of the world. It's an opportunity to grow and learn more about myself. I'm excited to learn about the American system and to make friends from different backgrounds. This experience will not only help me academically, but also shape me as a more open-minded and globally aware person. The most important thing about German culture is the food, and I hope I can show you and prepare my favorites for you. Also very important are the traditional festivities like Oktoberfest, which is an annual highlight for every age group or Carnival where you can dress up with your friends or family to go to the parade or Christmas markets which have a very festive vibe and are a cherished tradition to share with friends and family. I also want to show you guys German music since I love listening to music, especially German songs, and there are just so many hidden music gems. I genuinely appreciate your willingness to welcome me into your home. I understand that this experience will be a two-way journey where I have the privilege of learning from you as much as I hope to share my own culture and experiences with your family. I am eager to participate in your family life, learn from your daily routines, and create lasting memories together. Please know that I am open to communication and am more than willing to adapt to your family's customs and traditions. I look forward to meeting you in person and becoming a part of your family. thanks very much for reading my letter and maybe sharing your home with me. Sincerely Lilith

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (10+ years), Spanish (5 years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Object manager at school buildings

Mother's Occupation

art therapist

Siblings

Janne (22) Lia (24)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application