Meet

Dana

Age

15

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
💃
Dance
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
💋
Fashion/Beauty
  
Other Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🏃
Fitness
  
🛫
Travel
  

Dana

's Letter

My dear Host Family, I’m so grateful that you are willing to support and participate in my exchange program and so kindly open the doors to your family for me, thank you! I’m your typical German girl who is now willing to start chasing her dreams and to explore the world. I just finished my freshman year of high school and I’m ready for a new adventure. I’ve always been curious and open to trying new things. At a very young age, specifically America caught my eye, especially because of the country’s natural beauty and its history. My interest for your country and its culture has haunted me ever since and I’ve always dreamed about what it would be like to really experience the American lifestyle. I’m also hoping to bring along my own culture and traditions to share with you all. I’m a very outgoing, genuine, kind hearted, creative, straightforward and, most importantly, loving and open person. I have lots of friends, who create a fun environment in school. I really enjoy different styles of dancing, such as hiphop and contemporary. I also find myself reading books or just go for a quick jog around my city. Right now I speak 2 different languages, German and Russian, but I’m in the process of improving my Spanish skills as well as, of course, my English. I really look forward to becoming fluent in both. I’ve always liked sharing my knowledge and experiences with others of every age group, and I love putting a smile on people’s faces, even if it’s just a joke or an interesting story. Several years ago I started dancing with a team full of my closest friends, now it has become my passion. I would really like to try out for the cheer team, but even if I won’t make it, I’m excited for all the different opportunities to come. I’ve also always been interested in the Debate club, because talking to others, exchanging thoughts and learning quick thinking are also interests of mine. In addition, a future goal of mine is to study law, because I’ve always wanted to be able to defend people who can’t defend themselves. I’m hoping that school clubs will help me gain more knowledge and maybe help me in my career. My parents own a dental laboratory, they produce teeth and all the different things that go with it. My dad is also very interested in the American culture, he even started taking English classes recently. My mom is a full-time mother and she loves traveling and trying different activities no matter where we are. My mom and I love cooking together and over the years I’ve learned so much from her, that’s one of our special little traditions. My younger sister is ten years old, and while the age gap is pretty big, we are inseparable and very close. We also own a little dog, who has become such an important part of my life, I never imagined that a pet could make you any happier than you already are. My parents are my role models, they’ve achieved so much with only hard work and dedication, that’s what they’ve been teaching me to do my whole life. I’m so thankful to be so close with my family and I hope to become a part of your family as well. Since my parents have a lot of different roots, me and my sister have grown up with very unique and colorful traditions. I’m so glad to be able to share the beauty of our holidays and festivals with my host family very soon. I would love to show you how we celebrate the New Year, the so called “Weihnachtsmarkt” season and the carnival, which is a very special event in Germany with lots of its own customs. I’m also hoping to share my knowledge of different dishes and recipes like curry sausage, borscht soup and the doener kebab. Of course I also can introduce you to German folk songs and many others of my favorite style. Many of my older friends already took part in different exchange programs. When they told me about their experience and showed me all the beautiful pictures, I became even more determined to go to America and do everything I have wanted to do for so long. I believe that we will also create unforgettable memories with you and all the new people I will meet. I am so excited to become a part of your family! Thank you and warm regards, Dana

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), Russian (native), English (9 years)

Religion

Jewish

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Fall Semester

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Dental technician

Mother's Occupation

Dental asisstent

Siblings

Mila (11)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application