Top 3 Interests
Painting or Drawing
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
Other Interests
Horseback Riding


's Letter

Dear future host family, My name is Lydia and I’m from Germany. I would like to spend a year abroad in the US. While I am on my exchange, I want to experience a classic American high school and learn more about the American way of life. One of my main goals is obviously to improve my English. But besides that, I also want to meet new people and make new friends, whom I can even stay connected with after my exchange. Another important reason why I’m doing this is that I can learn a lot about myself during my exchange. Because when you’re abroad, no one knows who you are and you can be whoever you want. My hometown is a bigger city. I live there with my two parents and my two brothers, who are currently attending school. I also have a bigger sister, but she has already moved out to study at a university. My mother is an undertaker and my father is a property manager. I’ve never been anywhere besides Europe, but there is something about the United States that fascinates me. When I had to choose a country for my exchange year, I immediately knew that I wanted to go to the US. I like how different your country is. For example, the difference between living in a big city like New York or living on a farm in Texas. These are just two completely different ways of living, which fascinate me. I am currently in 10th grade in school. My favorite subjects are Arts and of course English. I think our school systems are quite different, Here in Germany, you aren’t able to choose between different subjects until you’re doing your A-levels. But even then, you can only choose between subjects you’ve already had during the last years. So I am actually really excited to have the opportunity to choose between interesting subjects in high school. I also enjoy doing sports. I’m currently not in any sports team, but I sometimes play tennis with my dad or do a workout on my own at home. But in the US I want to join a tennis or maybe a dancing team. In my free time, I like spending time with my friends. Just hanging out with them or doing activities like pottery painting. Generally, I like doing things with people I enjoy being around. I’m also into reading. I usually read fantasy and romance books. Besides that, I also enjoy baking and cooking, while listening to good music. I believe I am a calm person who laughs a lot. I try to help people where I can, but because I am more of an introvert, I also need time for myself sometimes. But overall I enjoy doing creative things and I’m open and willing to try something new during my exchange year. Thank you for considering me as your exchange student. I would be glad to join a great family. Kind regards, Lydia

A little more about me


German (native), English (5 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation

real estate specialist

Mother's Occupation

funeral director


Tanja (21) Ben (19) Jan (10)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application