Top 3 Interests
Family Activities
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
Other Interests
Church Activities or Clubs
Community Service
Ice Hockey


's Letter

Hello, first I would like to thank you for giving me the chance to stay with me and being my potential hostfamily. I am writing this letter to express my interest in participating in an exchange school year from August 2023 until January 2024. I believe that an exchange is a great opportunity for not only an unforgettable experience but also to obtain an invaluable opportunity to learn about school life in the United States. The United States always had a strong place in our family since my parents have spent some time in their lives in the US and still have many contacts to the US. They have been so positively affected by these unique experiences and the friendships they have made, that I also have a close feeling to your country. Now a little bit more about me. Together with my mom and my lovely cat I live in a nice house in nothern Germany. My mom Dunja is a very special person to me. She works as a compliance consultant for biobanks. My father sadly passed away in 2017 from cancer. It was the most painful time of my life, but it brought my mom and myself even closer together. I don’t have any siblings, but I experienced something close to that during the time, when we had exchange students from south America living with us. They came from Columbia & Bolivia and I still have a very close contact to them. Since then, we want to welcome an exchange student again and this time maybe from the US ;) In school my favorite subjects besides languages are geography and religion. I am a girl who always had a big interest in languages, the countries they came from and their cultures. But especially English. I grew up with parents who speak English very well because of their jobs, but also just in general. So for me it was almost like a complementary language. Additionally to German & English I also speak French – well, I wouldn’t say I can speak it fluently, but quite well. I have amazing friends who I can count on at any time. We are inseparable and I cannot imagine my life without them. We often meet to just talk, go shopping or watching movies, we always find things to do. Most of my free time, apart from school, I either meet my friends/family and we do something together or I choose a nice place to read, which has become a very important part of my life. About 3 years ago I decided to become a vegetarin, though I am still eating fish. I am open for any kind of cusine, this is one of the reasons why I love to cook/bake and try new recipes. I grew really fan of watching sports like Formula 1, Ice Hockey and of course American Football. In general I am a very open person for many things and activities. I’m really looking forward to meeting you and having a good time together! All the best, Sophie :)

A little more about me


German (native), English (8 years), French (5 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?




Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Fall Semester

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation

Mother's Occupation

Research Consultant


Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application