Meet

Xenia

Age

15

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🎭
Drama or Theater
  
🎨
Painting or Drawing
  
📣
Cheerleading
  
Other Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
💃
Dance
  
📚
Reading
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🛫
Travel
  

Xenia

's Letter

Dear host family, thank you for participating in the exchange program and being willing to take me in as your host student! My name is Xenia and I live with my parents, my little sister and my cat in Germany. Since I was little, I always wanted to go to an American high school. It was my biggest dream, and it still is. Because of Covid-19, I couldn’t do a student exchange earlier, and I was too young for a year abroad. But now I’m finally old enough. I tried for a long time to persuade my parents to do a student exchange and now they finally allowed me. I’m so happy about that. American high schools are always portrayed so cool in the movies and I want to find out if that is true. Maybe it’s even better than I imagine or different. I want to find out how to live as an American girl and how it feels like to be an American high school student. Besides that, I want to get to know the culture and find new friends. I would like to have a second family where I will be welcome and which would help me to learn about America, high school, the American teenage life and to improve my English skills. I want to get to know your way of life and I would be glad if you will be ready to show me your life. I can tell you how I live in Germany and my culture. I would be happy if I could become a part of your family and we could start this adventure together. I hope my long-awaited dream will come true and that you can help me to fulfil it. I would be very grateful. Now I want to tell you something about me, my hobbies, my future plans and my life in Germany. I’m a bit calmer in character. I’m kind, helpful, compassionate, loving, tolerant and caring of other people. I get along with others very well. I always try to help where I can and do my best. At the moment, my favourite hobby is cheerleading. I’ve been doing it for two months already and it is fun. I know it isn’t that long, but it feels like I’m already a part of the team. The other girls are really nice and we get along really well. We even have a championship in February 2023. I also like to read books and manga. Most of the books I read are in English. Two years ago I didn’t like reading, but now I do. I like exciting and emotional stories. I think I can learn a lot from books. For example how to handle problems or how to react in certain situations. I like drawing, too. I always try to improve myself and do my best. I also love to cook and bake. Sometimes I watch YouTube videos about cooking and baking and try to do it myself or I cook family recipes that I like. I also love to spend time with my family. We get along very good and do often things together. Like we watch films, play games, do trips, cook together and much more. I often help my parents around the house. My little sister is 8 years younger than me and I often watch out of her and play with her. Also, I like to spend time with my friends. We do many trips together, too. Like bowling, going swimming, doing overnight stays and more. No matter what I do with my family and my friends, I always have fun with them. After finishing my school up to the 13th grade, I want to study and maybe move to another country and live abroad. At that moment I don’t know what I want to study later but I would like to have a job where many people will be around me. Looking forward to the exchange Year, I think my biggest challenges would be the language, because my English is so far from perfect. I think the school might also be difficult at first because everything will be in a different language and I will need some time to get in and to understand everything. I also have never been separated from my family and friends for such a long time. That scares me a little bit, but I’m sure I’ll make it an that I will have a great time, find a second family and many new friends, get some great experiences and memories. I’m ready! You too? Yours, Xenia

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), Russian (native), English (7 years)

Religion

Catholic

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

warehouse clerk

Mother's Occupation

administrative clerk

Siblings

Anastasia (6)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application