Meet

Karen Cristine

Age

17

,

Female

Nationality

Brazilian

Top 3 Interests
🤾
Handball
  
📚
Reading
  
🏟️
Watching TV/Sports
  
Other Interests
💃
Dance
  
⚽️
Soccer
  
🖼
Visiting Museums
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🛫
Travel
  

Karen Cristine

's Letter

Dear Host Family, Thank you so much for participating in the exchange program and taking your time to learn about me. My name is Karen and I’m a girl from Brazil. I’m an outgoing, academic, fun person and I have a good sense of humor. I live with my mother and my sister and all the moments we share are very important to me. We have two dogs, and I love them. In my free time, I love to go out with my friends, watch TV series and movies. The movies I enjoy the most are Camp Rock and Uncharted, and my favorite sitcoms are Brooklyn 99, Boy Meets World, and Friends. I also really like reading novels and I feel that's the time when I can disconnect from the world and immerse myself in the story. I also love to listen to music, and my favorite acts are Harry Styles, Shawn Mendes, and New Hope Club. I also love sports and whenever I can, I watch NBA games, but the sport I like the most is soccer and I'm a fan of a Brazilian team called Flamengo. Since I was a child I've loved to dance, but I never had a chance to take formal classes, perhaps in my exchange year I'm able to do that. At school, my classes start at 7:10 am and end at 1:00 pm. After class, I go home, have lunch, study, do my homework, and in the evening I like to relax by watching a movie or reading a book. I have good grades because I study as hard as I can since I always try to do my best in everything I do, and in addition to that, I'm always glad to help my friends who are having difficulty at school. The subjects I study with a smile on my face are math, biology, and chemistry. At home, I help to do the dishes, dust off things, feed the dogs, take out the trash, and I always like to keep my room organized. I'm a person who eats almost everything, I just don’t like fish, and my first choice is healthy food. My mother works in a supermarket in charge of loss prevention. My older sister is four years older than me and she is in college. I also have a 10-year-old half-brother. My father married again, but he’s there for us, and we're very close. I have an aunt that I love, and she is my biggest supporter and responsible for my exchange year. We are a close family. One of Brazil's greatest riches is cultural diversity. Each region of the country has its typical foods, its accents, its traditions, it's like a lot of small countries together in one. I was born in a big city with people from all over Brazil, so here we can find a little bit of every place in the country, including typical dishes from all the regions. Brazil has festivals that are very important for the culture and the economy, such as Carnival, which is the most popular Brazilian festival known in the world, the São João festivities that take place in June, and the Parintins Festival in Pará state. All of them are huge festivals of great cultural wealth that are part of our history. My expectations for the exchange year are high. I'm looking forward to improving my English, experiencing a new culture by living the American lifestyle, learning the country's history, adding this whole experience to my life, and achieving greater self-confidence and autonomy. I will do my best to make it a wonderful year for me, your family, my classmates, and my new friends. I can't wait to meet you and start this new chapter of my life. Best Regards, Karen

A little more about me

Languages

Portuguese (native), English (10+ years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Mother's Occupation

Loss prevention officer

Siblings

Karine Roberta (21)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application