Meet

Lucas

Age

17

,

Male

Nationality

Belgian

Top 3 Interests
🥋
Martial Arts
  
🎒
Scouting
  
🎶
Music - Listening to or creating
  
All Interests
🎲
Board Games
  
💻
Computers or Technology
  
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🧑‍⚖️
Debating
  
🪴
Gardening
  
Hiking
  
🎶
Music
  
Skiing or Snowboarding
  
🖼
Visiting Museums
  
🛫
Travel
  
⛺️
Camping
  

Lucas

's Letter

Hello, I’m Lucas and I’m maybe your new exchange student. I’m from Belgium and I live in a house with my brother and my parents. In our family, we talk a lot about news, what we did during the day, etc. My parents are both employees, my mother works in a cork factory and my father in a boat factory. My brother studies political science at the university. My mother went to the USA with WEP about 30 years ago and thanks to her I heard about this program. I really like discovering and creating new things. My favourite activities are cooking (I like cooking desserts) and playing Minecraft (I’m building a town on this game). I also like playing Lego. And when the weather is good (not often in Belgium…) I grow vegetables in my garden. I watch a lot of videos about different subjects (sciences, games, documentary, history, …). Listening to music is one of my main activities, my favourite bands are Queen and The Beatles (I listen to other rock bands like the Beach Boys, the Rolling Stones, the Kinks, ...) I mainly listen to rock of the 60’s to the 90’s. My other music tastes are metal (my favourite bands are Powerwolf, Sabaton and Rammstein) and classic music (like Beethoven, Mozart, Bach, Liszt, …) I have practiced aikido (a martial art) for 8 years and piano for 3 years. I practice aikido every Saturday morning and I recently got my blue belt. I’m really implicated in my village’s life, I’m an animator of the youth movement and I’m a member of the youth organisation which organise parties and the village fair. I study in the high school of the town next to my village. My favourite subjects are sciences (physic, chemistry, and biology) math and English of course. I come back to my house every day at 4 pm with the school bus and I work for school for 2 hours, and after that I do other things like playing video games, watching videos, or playing the piano. I’m a good student at school, I’m not the best but I’m not the worst. I like learning new things and I like a bit less studying for tests. I don’t know exactly what I want to do later but maybe architect or something which is related to sciences. I have some good friends. I prefer not to have many but some with who I enjoy talking and spending time. I am really interested by a lot of things, I like talking but I am also shy and I need some time to feel good with people I don’t know. I work hard at school and I am not afraid by studying. I would like to go to the USA because, as I said in the beginning of my letter, I like discovering new things and I’m very excited to discover American’s traditions, American’s landscapes (which are different than what I usually see in Belgium) and meeting new people to talk with (I really like talking). The United States are not like the other countries, there is, for me, something different in it like something mythic, like an aura. An exchange program is better than a holiday because as an exchange student I will discover the American life from the inside (like the tradition with a real American family or the school life, the sport events). The second reason is because I would like to practice my English and one year in total immersion is a good way to achieve this dream. On my side I’ll be very happy to let you know a little bit about Belgium (Like our habits or our landscapes). I hope this letter makes you want to meet me and welcome me in your family to get to know each other better. I thank you very much for that. I’m looking forward to meeting you as well. Best regards, Lucas

A little more about me

Languages

French (native), English (3 years), Dutch (9 years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Employee

Mother's Occupation

Employee

Siblings

Nathan (20)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application