Meet

Luisa

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🎭
Drama or Theater
  
🎨
Painting or Drawing
  
🏊
Swimming
  
Other Interests
🪴
Gardening
  
📚
Reading
  
🧵
Sewing
  
🖼
Visiting Museums
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🛫
Travel
  

Luisa

's Letter

Dear host family, first of all I would like to thank you for taking into consideration to host me during my exchange program. My name is Luisa, and it would be great to live with you during my Highschool year in the US. At the moment I’m in 10th grade and I will do my high school diploma in 12th grade. I live with my parents in an apartment close to the center. My mom runs the household, and my dad works as a judge. I also have an older brother, who recently moved out, because he started to study business science in another city. He also did a high school year in the US in Arizona in 2019/20. It inspired me to do the same. My hobbies are drawing, painting and playing theater, however three years ago I did swimming. I had to stop, because the pandemic of covid started. Besides swimming I also did hip-hop and kung fu for a year, but it wasn’t really my thing. I paint all kinds of things; I use watercolors and acrylic paint. I also read sometimes in my free time, I read fantasy, horror, mystery and manga. My chors at home are cleaning up my room and twice a week the kitchen. On the weekend we sometimes go to a museum or visit relatives. I play in a local theater. While playing theater I met one of my close friends Sanja, who plays theater in the same group as I do. Until now I have played in four plays and I am still playing in one. I enjoy acting, so I would like to join the drama club in the American high school, if it is possible. I have a close friend called Paula I spend most of the time with at school. We became good friends because we understand each other well and we both bring our lunch to school. The rest of my class eats outside even though we have cafeteria at school. I eat lunch three times a week in school and the rest of the week at home. My favorite subject is art but I also like biology and chemistry. I don’t really like the subject music, because I don’t play any instruments, and the subject physics, because I’m not good at it. I’ve never been in the U.S. before. All I know about the U.S. is, what I’ve seen in movies, read in my English school books and what my brother has told me. He mentioned that sport is more important in school than here in Germany. I also heard that religion is quite important in the American family life. My parents, my brother and I are Catholic. My mother prays every day, but my dad doesn’t. We rarely go to church, sometimes on Christmas and Easter. Personally, I don’t pray, but I believe in God and I’m open to take part in Christian services if it is part in your life. I want to participate in your family life and get to know how you live, if there are any special habits, we don`t have in Germany. I’m open for new things even food. I like everything, except licorice. And of course, I want to meet American children in my age and make new friends. At home we don’t have any pets, but it won’t be any problem for me, if the pet (dog) is not so wild and doesn’t sleep in my room. I’m looking forward to seeing you soon and thank you very much for letting me live with you. Best regards, Luisa

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), Portuguese (native), English (6 years)

Religion

Catholic

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

No

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

judge

Mother's Occupation

household

Siblings

Jonas Albert (19)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application