Top 3 Interests
Running or Jogging
Board Games/Cards/Dice Games/Chess
Reading or Listening to Audiobooks
Other Interests
Horseback Riding
Family Activities


's Letter

Dear Host Family, Thank you for considering to welcome me as an exchange student. My name is Inès. I am a 16 year old girl who live in the French-speaking part of Belgium. I am in senior year in high school. I live with my parents – Françoise and Rossen – and with my younger brother Maxime. Maxime and I are pretty close because we’re of similar age and go to the same school. Some of my friends are the older brothers or sisters of some of Maxime’s friends. I like spending time with Maxime, playing bord-games, watching TV or just talking. My parents and I have a pretty open and honest relationship. My dad is a little bit more strict about rules, but we are more alike in our characters. It’s easier to talk with my mom though. I like not to disappoint them and even making them proud of me – this gives me motivation in difficult moments. I choose to do an exchange year because I would like to have a pause between my high school and college studies. It is a transition year during which I will challenge myself to go out of my comfort zone and hope to gain in self-confidence. I am keen to become more autonomous and learn about myself – to discover what I am capable of. I also would like to meet new people, force myself to socialize with people who I don’t know and to learn about a new culture. I have chosen the United States because it is a country that has intrigued me for several years now and I have been wondering what it would be like to live there as a teenager. I hope to learn about the culture, the sports, the traditions (such as Thanksgiving), the people and the popular activities. I think that the best way to achieve that is to do it by living in a host family – it is a deeper “immersion” than to live in a youth house. I am really looking forward to discover differences in daily life and to adapt to them. It will be also fun to compare certain aspects of our respective cultures – I hope to allow you to discover also part of the Belgian culture, for example by preparing typical food. During lockdown, I have started watching tv-shows and films in English. Then I started following Americans on social media and now, I am even reading books in English. I love to discover something, a film or a book, in the language it was first made in. I like Mathematics and Economics – they are both some of my favorite subjects. Another subject that I really like is English, because it helps me improving my grammar, where I have a little bit more difficulties. I took the immersion in Dutch, so I could have a challenge to reach during my high school studies. It is not my favorite class, but I learned how to study sciences, history and geography in a foreign language thanks to it. I really like to stay home and live an ordinary life, as much as I like to go out of my comfort zone and try new things and discover new places. My usual after school routine is to exercise, study and then I either watch a movie alone or with my family, watch American football with my dad, play board games with my brother, or read a book in my room. I try and do as much family activities as possible during the week and I like helping my parents cook but I also like baking cookies and cupcakes on my own. I would love to cook you typical Belgian – or more broadly European – type of food. During the week- end, I study for several hours and then I sometimes meet with some of my friends either in a restaurant or just at one of our houses – we sometimes also go to the cinema. I love running alone, but I sometime also run with my dad and/or brother – it allows us to bond and catch up on each other’s’ latest events. That being said, I prefer running alone with music in my ears and the nature around me. It is really peaceful and helps me spend my energy and clear my mind when I feel stressed about something. I also would like to go to the gym to keep a physical activity during winter. With the days that become shorter, it is more difficult to go running after school, as I don’t really like running in the dark. I don’t play team sports on a regular basis, but I liked basketball when we played it at school. I have been also horse-riding for several years and did several “jumping contests” – but last year the club where I was going closed. I eventually didn’t move to another one, as I had to focus on my studies that increased in difficulty. Last summer, I also worked for the first time in my life as a student in a restaurant. I liked these first working experiences, as they gave my a bit more self-confidence. The exchange student year is going to be my first time in America ever. I hope that this letter allowed you to discover a bit my personality and my current daily life. I would like to thank you again for considering to accept me in your family. Respectfully, Inès from Belgium

A little more about me


French (native), English (6 years), Dutch (6 years)



Do you have any allergies?


Do you have any special dietary restrictions?



Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?


Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?


Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?


Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?



About my family

Father's Occupation

Managing director

Mother's Occupation

Deputy Prosecutor


Maxime (15)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application