Meet

Orlane

Age

17

,

Female

Nationality

French

Top 3 Interests
📚
Reading
  
🏐
Volleyball
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
All Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  

Orlane

's Letter

Dear host family, Thank you for welcoming me in your family, I am so grateful. I’m a French girl, who lives with her parents, her little sister and her cat. I love my family life; my parents are still married and we are very close together. I live on an island, where life is very cool; in the summer we have the beach and in winter we can go to the mountains. But my favorite moment is during the summer; I’m on vacation, I see my friends practically every day, go to the beach, to the river, also we can surf or sail on a boat. I love the summer mood. At school, I don’t really like it but I’m a good student. My sport is volleyball, I’ve been playing it for two years. My hobbies are reading. My favorite books are Romance novels. I also enjoy listening to music, I listen to it very often and all kinds. I’m a rather positive person, I find myself mature, open-minded, independent and kind, but also a little reserved, sometimes and I find I’m nervous of how people will see me, I dislike this in myself. My friends and family tell me I often want to be right and I’m too nice but they also consider me a generous and funny person. As you can see, I’m a normal teenager. But I have a dream. I want to go to the United States, to live the life of an American teenager: to live with an American family, go to high school, take the yellow bus, go to the prom and to the graduation ceremony... Before having this dream, I didn't have the aim. I heard people of my age share their ambitions: what was their perfect job, how they were imagining their future goal, but for me I didn't know the answers. I have professional ideas, like fighter pilot, owner of an eco-responsible company or an actress, I even wanted to do Science Po, but nothing concrete. Now I have motivation and a dream. I discovered this experience through a girl who I follow on social media. I liked this concept and I did a lot of research to be able to answer my parents’ questions. I love my life here: my family, my friends, my activities but I want to meet new people, discover new culture, get out of the comfort zone of my routine and learn another language. I always stay in France and I want to see the world. I have lived the majority of my life on an island, where everybody knows each other. I’m lucky because I have a support from the people who believe in me. I hope this project will bring me not only progress in English, but also personal development and growth like more confidence, maturity, and also help me with my future professional and personal goals. Thank you for taking the time to read this letter! Best wishes and have a great day! Orlane

A little more about me

Languages

French (native), English (8 years), Spanish (4 years)

Religion

None

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

police officer

Mother's Occupation

radiology technician

Siblings

Lorine (13)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application