Meet

Annika

Age

17

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
💃
Dance
  
🎨
Painting or Drawing
  
📚
Reading
  
All Interests
⛪️
Church Activities or Clubs
  
🎭
Drama or Theater
  
🖼
Visiting Museums
  
🛫
Travel
  
🧶
Crafting
  

Annika

's Letter

Dear future host family! First of all I would like to say thank you for giving me the opportunity to live with you and become a part of your family for nearly an entire year, I´m very grateful for that. Obviously I still don´t know anything about you, but I´m already very excited to meet you. Until we meet each other I want to tell you about myself, my life, my family and why I want to go on an exchange year to the US. My name is Annika and I live with my parents Kristina and Alexander and with my 12 year old brother Henrik in a town in Germany. I get along with my family very well and I´m very close with them, especially with my brother. We spend a lot of time together when my parents are at work and we mostly play games or I help him with studying and his homework. At home we have normal chores like taking out the trash, washing the dishes, cleaning our room and I occasionally cook for my brother and me. I´m close with my other family members aswell, especially with my uncle and also with my grandparents, who live about 20 minutes away and ever since I was little I spend a lot of time at their house. Most of my family is evangelic and sometimes I go to church with my grandmother, where she also works. Although I had my confirmation over a year ago, all of the teenagers who also had their confirmation that year, my pastor and I still meet once a month to talk and play board games, which I look forward to every time. After the summer holidays I will be in 10th grade of a german secondary school. My favourite subjects are english, art and biology. I´m a very open person and I like meeting new people, which is why I enjoy learning english, because you can communicate with so many people since it´s a world language. Art is another of my favourite subjects because I´m a very creative person. I spend a lot of time drawing, painting and taking pictures in my freetime. I also really like biology, because I think it´s very interesting to learn about the human body. This is also the reason why I work at a pharmacy in the holidays and why I want to study pharmacy in the future. I´m a helpful and caring person, which is why I like learning about all of the different medicines to help other people. I´m in the first aid group of my school, where we learn exactly what we have to do to help other people if they´re hurt, not feeling well or in case of an emergency. Besides studying, drawing and painting I also spend a lot of time reading books and listening to music, mostly rock music. I am also in a theatre group, where we write our own plays and perform them once a year. I really enjoy dancing and I´m taking latin and ballroom dance classes with my friends. The first time I heard about exchange programs was in school and I was interested immediately. I spent a lot of time researching and talking to other exchange students and their families. I´m very excited to have the opportunity to live in the US for 10 months. I want to get to know the culture and meet new people. I´m very interested in seeing how it´s like to be part of an american family and getting to know their everyday life, traditions and values, especially compared to my family and home here in Germany. I´m also looking forward to going to an american high school, because of the language and because the school system is different to the school system in Germany. We can´t choose the classes we take and there also aren´t a lot of afternoon school activities, for example sports clubs, which is also someting I´m looking forward to hopefully participate in. I hope that I could give you a little insight into my life and I´m already very excited to finally meet you! I´m looking forward to hearing from you soon, Annika

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (7 years), Spanish (3 years)

Religion

Evangelic

Do you have any allergies?

Yes

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

Yes

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Quality Director

Mother's Occupation

commercial clerk

Siblings

Henrik (12)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application