Meet

Lina

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🤾
Handball
  
Skiing or Snowboarding
  
🛫
Travel
  
All Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🐴
Horseback Riding
  
📚
Reading
  
🏊
Swimming
  
🏃
Fitness
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  

Lina

's Letter

Dear host family, first of all I would like to thank you for taking into consideration to be my host family. I am beyond grateful for that. I am Lina, a 16-year-old student from Germany. At the moment I attend the 10th grade of a high school. My hobbies are swimming, playing handball and reading. I am open-minded and interested in other countries and cultures. For this reason, I like to travel a lot (with and without my family) to gain a lot of experience. Being a good student, offers me the possibility to spend a lot of time for my hobbies. In my spare time I enjoy doing sports, I play handball in our local club. I like to meet with friends, but sometimes I am just happy to be in my room and read a good book. My family includes my mother Britta, my father Thorsten, my younger sister Mira and 2 guinea pigs. I would like to have more pets. I am very fond of animals and like to take responsibility for them. Do you have pets? My parents are both working. I am very independent and organize my everyday life with school and hobbies. I support my parents with gardening or with smaller household chores. I also like to cook and bake. For us as family, it is important for us to have at least dinner together. Then everyone has the opportunity to talk about his or her day. In addition, we also like to make leisure plans. On holidays and weekends, we do a lot with our friends or with the whole family. We go for example on bicycle tours or hiking. My family and I love to travel. In the summer I prefer to go to the sun, for example to Italy, Spain, or Greece. We explore foreign cities and want to get to know the country and its people. In winter, we usually go to Austria for skiing. In addition, I take every opportunity to travel with youth groups, such as skiing or school exchanges. Last summer I participated in an exchange program with an American girl. First, she stayed at my house for two weeks and I showed her Germany, then we flew to her place in Florida, and she showed me her family and home country. It was a fantastic time during which I made the decision to get to know the country and the people even better. Therefore, I want to see other regions of the United States and I want to experience everyday life together with you. Have you hosted exchange students before? My travel experience has made me open-minded and more independent from my parents and friends. I can integrate well, and I am helpful when I meet other people. My motivation is to take the chance to improve my English and make some unforgettable impressions from my visit at yours. I would be very happy if you could support me in this! Thank you, very much and best regards, Lina

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (5 years), Spanish (3 years)

Religion

Church of Christ

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Diplom-Kaufmann

Mother's Occupation

Diplom Kauffrau

Siblings

Mira (13)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application