Meet

Emma

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🎨
Painting or Drawing
  
🏐
Volleyball
  
All Interests
📸
Photography
  
📚
Reading
  
Skiing or Snowboarding
  
🎾
Tennis
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🛫
Travel
  
⛺️
Camping
  

Emma

's Letter

Dear Host Family, I am very grateful that you are willing to host an exchange student in your family and support them in this big step. I appreciate it very much. My name is Emma and I am a 16 year old girl living in Germany. I am currently in the 10th grade at a Gymnasium and I am more than ready to do an exchange year in the U.S. after this school year. I love to travel and want to see as much of the world as possible in my life. That's why I decided to do a year abroad. Besides learning English, I want to get to know the American culture better, meet lots of new people and experience an unforgettable adventure that I can tell my grandchildren about later. One of my favourite pastimes is painting. I love to let my creativity run free and put my thoughts and feelings on canvas. I would say that this is one of my strengths. I also like cooking, doing sports like yoga or volleyball, doing things outside with my group of friends, like picnicking in a meadow, and helping people. I live together with my parents, my 5 years older brother and my cat Amy in a nice attic flat in a rather small town. I also have a 30 year old sister who already has her own family. My father is the manager of a company which includes butchers and supermarkets. My mum also works in this company. Both of them are totally open-minded and love to travel. That's why we have already been to the U.S. three times for holidays. We have already been to New York City, Los Angeles, Las Vegas and Miami Beach, among other places. We fell in love with the country on our very first holiday and really wanted to see more of it. I love doing things with my family. We all have a very close relationship and I hope it will be the same with my host family in the U.S. When I have completed my eleventh and twelfth grade after the year abroad, I plan to go to university. I would prefer to do that in a larger city. I would like to study architecture or interior design because I am totally interested in both and it goes in the creative direction. I am looking forward to the year abroad because I am sure that I will find a second home and have an unforgettable time. I want to introduce my host family to German culture, show them lots of pictures and maybe even prepare typical German dishes for them. I am sure that I will have a very exciting time and I am happy that I can experience this as a member of your family! Best regards Emma

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (5 years), French (4 years)

Religion

Protestant

Do you have any allergies?

Yes

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

manager

Mother's Occupation

butcher shop assistant

Siblings

Johann (21)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application