Meet

Lais

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

Brazilian

Top 3 Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🎾
Tennis
  
🏃
Fitness
  
All Interests
🙋
Community Service
  
💃
Dance
  
🎶
Music
  
🃏
Playing Cards
  
🧑‍⚖️
Politics
  
📚
Reading
  
🏊
Swimming
  
🛫
Travel
  
🤿
Diving
  
⚽️
Sports
  

Lais

's Letter

Hello my future parents. I come through this letter to tell you a little about my story and life experiences. You already know but it doesn't hurt to remember, my name is Lais, and I take great pleasure in studying and learning new things. For this reason it has always been a dream to do an exchange program, even though I think I am very mature and responsible for my age, I think it is a unique life experience that will make me grow in different ways. Well, let's get down to business. My life story: I was born in a capital, and I grew up in a country town. It is a very small town with only 50,000 inhabitants, but it was there where I had the best moments of my life. All the friendships I've built, moments I've lived will always be kept in my heart. In 2015 I got the best gift of my life, my cat Bartolomeu. I have always been passionate about animals and dreamed of having a dog. But my mother didn't want one, since she knew that all the responsibilities and care for the animal would be left to her, because at the time I was just a child, and I didn't have the autonomy to have a dog. It was with this in mind that my parents decided to give me a cat, as it is a more autonomous animal and requires less care. I didn't imagine how much difference it is to have an animal at home, and today, without a doubt, I wouldn't be able to imagine my life without it. A few years later my brother also got a kitten to keep him company. I will miss my cats a lot during my exchange, and I certainly wouldn't mind if my future family had a kitten or a dog, as it would help me not to miss an animal companion so much. At the end of 2021, I moved to the city where I live today. At first it was very very difficult for me to leave all my friends and my father's family in another state and move here. During the first months I felt quite out of place with my new reality of life, however, I am a very determined, sociable and self-assured person, so over time I ended up conquering my space and making new friends. So I really hope to be welcomed both by you (my family), and by my future friends. My favorite thing to do, without a doubt, is travel. The best trip I ever took in my life was to Chicago, USA. I spent a whole month there and that's when I developed my English the most. It was also the first time I saw snow and I thought it was too beautiful. However, the places I like to go the most are beaches and hot places, as my favorite season is summer. I even took a scuba diving course when I was younger and dived together with my dad in the pacific ocean on a trip we took to Mexico. My favorite food is pasta. I also love to cook, I think it has even become a family tradition. My father learned to make the best pasta in the world from my grandfather, and today, all I know about cooking was my father who taught me. A few months ago I also stopped eating meat, it was my choice since I love animals very much, but it was never a problem for me, since my father always reinvented the dishes we ate the most, so that today, even following a more restricted I can eat too. He even created a Tiktok to post the recipes, and believe it or not, he has almost 5k followers. Over time I learned what I like best and exploring the world of plants. Whenever we go to a barbecue, for example, I prepare my own plant-based food myself! In addition to food, my family and I also pay a lot to practice sports and have a healthy life. My brother even dreams of becoming a professional tennis player, and he trains a lot so that in a few years he can also have the opportunity to play for Europe and the United States. Tennis is the family sport, my father and I also train every week, of course with much less intensity and frequency than my brother who wants to become a high performance athlete. But I consider it my sport too, and I would love to improve my skills if possible during this one year that I will be spending abroad. About music I also play the piano, I started to like it because I watched a series in which the main character had a beautiful grand piano in the middle of his living room. My mother during my childhood really wanted me to play the guitar, I even took lessons for a year, but I didn't like it very much because my fingers hurt. I consider myself a beginner on the piano because I'm not very good at music, but I think it's a beautiful instrument and I also consider it very important to develop a musical side beyond sports and academics. Finally, I would like to thank my family for giving me this opportunity to do an exchange program and to say that I am very grateful to them for all the investment they make in me. I hope to find a family that fits with me and that has the same values ​​that I learned since I was a child. See you soon!

A little more about me

Languages

Portuguese (native), English (5 years)

Religion

Christian

Do you have any allergies?

Yes

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

Yes

Special Diet Details

She is not use to eat meat, but her family in Brazil eats and she is use to and have no problem staying with a family that eats

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

businessman

Mother's Occupation

businesswoman

Siblings

Fernando (13)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application