Meet

Malina

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🧑‍⚖️
Debating
  
🎾
Tennis
  
🛫
Travel
  
All Interests
⛪️
Church Activities or Clubs
  
🙋
Community Service
  
🎨
Painting or Drawing
  
📚
Reading
  
🏃
Running or Jogging
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  

Malina

's Letter

Dear Future Host Family, First of all, I would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of your family. I hope after reading this letter, you will have a good first impression of me and what my life in Germany looks like. I am Malina, a sixteen year old girl from Germany. The people that know me would describe me as an open-minded, optimistic, funny and extroverted person. In general, I have no problems getting to know new people. I am living together with my parents Marcus and Britta, my almost thirteen year old sister Leona and my dog Toby. My sister and me get along very well. We both play tennis in our free time and love to play together on the weekends. I am very thankful to have her in my life, because whenever we are spending time together, it’s always a lot of fun. But also the relationship between my parents and me is great. They support me and my ideas and are still the people I go to, when I have problems and need their advise. As a family we usually spend time together playing games, watching movies or going on walks. Which is, in fact, pretty often, because of our dog. I believe, getting a dog was one of the best decisions and I can’t imagine what my life would be like without him and our daily cuddles. My dad works during the week but my mother is at home. Especially when I was younger, I was very lucky to have a prepared meal on the table, whenever I got home from school. Nowadays, I try to help her as often as I can. I clean my room, help in the kitchen and walk with the dog. I am very grateful for my family and the opportunities they are offering me! In my free time I am playing tennis twice a week as well as spending time with my friends as often as possible. Beside my family, my friends are the most important people in my life. Together we like to meet in Cafés to talk, go to parks in our city or go swimming in the summer. However, it doesn’t really matter where we meet, because as long as we’re together, it’s always an amazing time. I know that I can count and rely on them, that they are always there for me when I need help and I am very thankful for that. Apart from this, I am voluntarily involved in our protestant church community. We organize events in our district and offer several things to the youth of our community, like campfire on mondays. I really enjoy the voluntary work, because I have met many new people and made friends. Additionally, it helped me to become more independent from others. I learned how to deal with responsibility and to become more self confident. If I had to picture my dream future I would be happy, doing what I enjoy and most importantly being surrounded by the people I love. I want to finish school successfully and then study something I enjoy, in order to have my own steady income someday. I also plan to travel a lot and to get to know as many parts of the world as possible. I want to collect unforgettable memories and moments, my exchange year being one of them. But why did I decide to do an exchange year? I guess the breaking point was in the 6th grade when my sister and I watched the movie "High School Musical". I remember telling her that I would love to experience this high school life, the community, prom and graduation. By now I’ve realized that this perfect life doesn’t quite match the reality, however, nothing has changed my dream to spend a year abroad in the USA. I would love to experience the American culture and the so-called “American way of life”. I am already very excited to attend an American High School, which is completely different from the schools we have here in Germany. I'm looking forward to meeting lots of new people and making friends, maybe even for a lifetime. As a German exchange student I plan to let you know about my life in Germany and about our culture, as you are letting me be a part of yours! During my year abroad I want to have a wonderful time. I want to collect unforgettable memories and experiences and grow as a person. I am so very thankful that you are offering this opportunity to me by considering to host me for one year. I would love to be a part of your family and to integrate myself into your family routines. I am looking forward to getting to know you! Yours, Malina

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (10+ years), Spanish (5 years)

Religion

Evangelic

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

No

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Division Manager HR

Mother's Occupation

Housewife

Siblings

Leona (12)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application