Meet

Tara

Age

15

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
💃
Dance
  
🤸
Gymnastics
  
🏃
Fitness
  
Other Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🏊
Swimming
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
⚽️
Sports
  

Tara

's Letter

Dear Host Family, Thank you so much for being willing to participate in the exchange program and accepting me to live with your family. At the moment I’m 15 and I will be turning 16 shortly after I arrive. I am currently in the 10th grade. I like to try new things and I want to learn more about the American culture. I love to dance and do gymnastics in my free time. I am a very outgoing person that is also reliable and I like to meet new people. I enjoy spending my time with friends and I like doing activities such as cycling or picnicking. Sometimes I prefer staying at home and just watching series and movies. I also enjoy helping out in our family members' Greek restaurant. It helps me to overcome my shyness. I have been dancing since I was 3 years old. I started to do it in a group of 7 girls. I have been dancing with a friend as a duo since I was 7 years. Two years ago I also wanted to continue with solo dancing. In 2018 we went to our first competition. Because of Corona, we couldn’t go to tournaments for 3 years, so a couple of months later we had our first in a long time. My parents work in the office and both are interested in outdoor activities like hiking, bicycling or travelling. My younger sister is 3 years younger than me and she is in 5th grade she also dances in the same team. We are a close family and I hope to become a part of your family as well. My family and I have a really strong bonding so I think it could be really hard to live without them for so long but after a long time, it can be different because I got a host family which is there for me. This shouldn’t sound like it’s going to be easy for me but I know I can call them and stay in touch with them while I´m gone. I am very interested in the lifestyle of Americans. The most important part of this exchange year for me is to improve my English skills and I want to get to know the American culture. I also want to share the public German holidays with you. As you now know I love to dance and I would like to continue this in America as well so it would be a great experience to join a cheerleading team if possible. I would describe myself as a very helpful and reliable person and I think this could be a reason why I have a few friend groups. In school, I spent my time with my closest friends. We have lunch together and use the moment to talk about random stuff. My favorite subjects are chemistry and information technology. When I get home I first eat something after that I do my homework and clean up my room. On Monday and Friday, I have dance lessons and on the other days besides dancing, I also call a good friend of mine or I watch something on the TV. In the evening I help my parents for example with the dishes or doing the chores. After lunch, I study the things for the following day like vocabulary. When there aren’t any competitions at the weekend I spend my time with friends. Besides I experienced something that wasn’t the best experience. It started when I was at a competition and I was very scared of not making it. With this fear, I went on stage and started performing at the beginning everything worked out as I wanted. A little later I had a blackout and I wanted to leave the stage. I pulled myself together and kept dancing and made up my own choreographiy. In the end everything went well and I made it to the next round. From that situation, I’ve learned to never give up no matter what happens. After I finished the exchange year I want to go to a technical college to find out which kind of industry I want to join. Warm Regards, Tara

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (6 years), French (3 years)

Religion

None

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Entwickler Qualität

Mother's Occupation

Koordinator Personal

Siblings

Tija (12)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application