Meet

Marlene

Age

16

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
🎭
Drama or Theater
  
📚
Reading
  
🎾
Tennis
  
All Interests
🚴
Bike Riding
  
🎲
Board Games
  
🎤
Choir or Singing
  
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
💃
Dance
  
🎶
Music
  
🏃
Running or Jogging
  
Skiing or Snowboarding
  
🏃
Fitness
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  
🛫
Travel
  

Marlene

's Letter

Dear Host Family, thank you for giving someone the chance to experience life in the USA! I am an almost 16-year-old German girl and currently, I am in ninth grade in school. I do not like science subjects that much and prefer subjects like History or Ethics and learning languages. I am very interested in other cultures, especially the American. During my exchange year, I want to see new places, meet new people and try the activities you can do at a high school apart from improving my English. In addition, I am very interested in your holidays, which we do not celebrate or have in Germany and I am already excited that I am probably going to celebrate my first Thanksgiving with you! Next to German, I can speak a little French from school and of course English. In my free time, I like to read books, listen to podcasts and music and to meet my friends and family. I have been playing tennis for a long time and really like it, in general, I like doing sports. I also have danced ballet for a long time, around eight years and I still enjoy dancing for fun. Apart from these two things, my favourite thing to do is playing theatre. I would be happy if I could do it in school during the exchange year because actress is next to lawyer one of my dream jobs. But at my high school in the US, I would also really like to try something new, maybe cheerleading would be fun! In Germany I live in an apartment with my mom in a city. My mother works as a physician (cardiologist). I really like to live in a city but before we moved to this city we lived in a pretty small village and so I am used to this as well. My mom already travelled a lot with me and I have seen many places but until now, I have only been once to the USA when I was younger, in New York City for a short period of time. I am so excited to see more of the states during my exchange! The idea of making an exchange year had my mother. She has been often in the US and studied partly in Boston and enjoyed it a lot, she told me. So she inspired me. I am really looking forward to getting to know you and having a good time together! Warm regards, Marlene

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (7 years), French (3 years)

Religion

None

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

Yes

Special Diet Details

Marlene doesn't eat meat, but doesn't mind if others eat it.

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Mother's Occupation

cardiologist

Siblings

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application