Meet

Janika

Age

15

,

Female

Nationality

German

Top 3 Interests
📚
Reading
  
🏐
Volleyball
  
🛫
Travel
  
Other Interests
🧑‍🍳
Cooking
  
🪴
Gardening
  
🐴
Horseback Riding
  
🏃
Fitness
  
👨‍👩‍👧‍👦
Family Activities
  

Janika

's Letter

Dear Host Family, I am very happy that you have chosen me for my study abroad program, starting summer 2023. It is a great opportunity for me, and I hope we have a nice time ahead. My name is Janika, and I live in Germany. I like to try new things and I’m excited to learn about the American culture and the high school living. I am also very curious to meet new people and hopefully make many friendships in America that will last after my year is over. I am a very independent, creative, academic, and determined person. For example, I like to crochet and knit very much. I also love flowers and have many different plants in all kinds of colors in my room. I spend most of my free time with my friends. Then we do different things, like going to the cinema, shopping, or we visit a small zoo in my hometown. Once a year, we all go on a summer vacation with the youth group of our church, then we go to the Netherlands to the sea or to Austria to the mountains. Because I am also a big roller coaster fan, I go once a year with my father to Phantasialand, which is a big amusement park here in Germany with great roller coasters. Since 2021 I play volleyball in a club, and we train twice a week. I hope I can continue to play during the year abroad and play in high school if there is a team there. I really enjoy sports, so if there’s no chance for playing Volleyball, I’m also opened to join other sport teams as well as other creative or cultural school- activity groups. I also enjoy reading, listening to music by ABBA or Taylor Swift, and spending time outdoors with our pets, such as a long walk in the woods with Tiffy, our dog. I enjoy good weather and the sun. I live together with my parents Jana, Jörg and my sister Johanna. My mom works as a nurse and my dad works in the advertising business. Johanna is two years older than me and is currently at the upper school for preparing her high school diploma. We all get along very well and spend a lot of time together. I hope it will be the same for us and I will become a part of your family. I think the biggest challenge for me will be to open up because I can be quite shy sometimes in the beginning. When I am back in Germany after my year abroad, I will continue to go to school, to work on my high school diploma. Bevor I start my studies it would be great to return to America for another year and work as an au-pair. I am sure that the year with you will also improve my English skills significantly, so that I will benefit from it here in Germany for a long time. Also, a school year at an American high school will definitely give me valuable impressions of a different school and education system. I hope to have an unforgettable time ahead and make great memories while living in your family. Warm Regards, Janika

A little more about me

Languages

German (native), English (6 years)

Religion

Catholic

Do you have any allergies?

No

Do you have any special dietary restrictions?

No

,

Special Diet Details

Are you ok to live with pets?

Yes

Live with Pets Details

Program Length

Academic Year

Are you ok to live in a single parent household without children?

No

Are you ok with a placement with another exchange student?

Yes

Are you willing to pay tuition at a private school?

No

Grants

About my family

Father's Occupation

Mother's Occupation

Advertising/Media Manager

Siblings

Johanna (17)

Sharing cultures and building communities with high school exchange.

Start application